Skip to main content

Complaint ID 91046 — Public Copy

Report generated on November 14, 2019, 11:31 AM.

Status: Approved/Closed

Date Received August 27, 2019, 1:13 PM
Assigned Office Director's Office
Date Complaint Closed October 3, 2019, 11:31 AM
Review Comments [Not entered]

Complaint

EPD received information that a possible leak of ethylene oxide occurred at Sterigenics on 7-31-2019 which potentially needed to be reported.

Primary Concern Hazardous material spill
Secondary Concern [Not entered]
Location of Complaint Sterigenics 2971 Olympic Industrial Dr. SE, Suite 116 Atlanta, Georgia 30339
City of Complaint Atlanta
County of Complaint Cobb

Source

Facility ID Number [Not entered]
Source Name Sterigenics
Source Contact Daryl Mosby
Source Address 2971 Olympic Industrial Dr. SE, Suite 116 Atlanta, Georgia 30339

Actions

August 27, 2019 — Initial Investigation

Upon receiving the email from Ms. Lutz, EPD initiated an investigation of the potential incident. See the attached email from Tuesday, August 27, 2019 at 2:45 pm.

August 27, 2019 — Initial Investigation

EPD conducted an on site investigation of the potential incident. See the attached inspection report for details.

August 28, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I (James Cooley, EPD) received an email from Daryl Mosby with an attachment of the complete email that prompted the investigation. See the attached email from Wednesday, August 28, 2019 at 4:07 pm for details.

August 29, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathy Hoffman, Senior Vice President - Global Environmental, Heath & Safety and Technical Services. I asked her to provide me with a list of the last five years releases at the facility along with incident reports for each one. I also asked her to provide me with a timeline for the events surrounding the 7-31-2019 release of Ethylene Oxide.

August 30, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathleen Hoffman. She informed me that she sent me part of the information I requested and that she would try to have me the rest of it by that afternoon.

August 30, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received an email from Kathleen Hoffman with part of the requested information. This included documentation that the spent drum that caused the release on 7-31-2019 had 9.3 lbs of Ethylene Oxide left in it before the release occurred. See the attached email from Friday, August 30, 2019 at 12:29 pm for details.

August 30, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received a follow up email from Kathleen Hoffman with the rest of the information I requested. See the attached email from Friday August 30, 2019 at 6:16 pm for details.

September 3, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I sent an email to Kathleen Hoffman requesting additional information. See the attached email from Tuesday, September 3, 2019 at 8:22 am for details.

September 3, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received a response from Kathleen Hoffman regarding my request. See the attached email from September 3, 2019 at 12:31 pm for details.

September 3, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I sent an email to Kathleen Hoffman requesting additional information. See the attached email from Tuesday, September 3, 2019 at 3:26 pm for details.

September 3, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received an email from Kathleen Hoffman with the information I requested earlier that morning. See the email from Tuesday, September 3, 2019 at 5:42 pm for details.

September 5, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received an email from Kathleen Hoffman with additional information. See email from Thursday, September 5, 2019 2:59 pm.

September 12, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I sent an email to Kathleen Hoffman requesting additional information. See the attached email from Thursday, September 12, 2019 at 3:03 pm for details.

September 18, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathleen Hoffman. She informed me that she would be sending me the information I requested a little later in the afternoon.

September 18, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received an email from Kathleen Hoffman with additional information. See email from Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 6:34 pm.

September 24, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathleen Hoffman. I informed her that I needed more detailed information on how they calculated the releases that they estimated.

September 25, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathleen Hoffman. I asked her how far along they were with getting the information for me. She informed me that they were finishing up their draft and sending it to their legal team for review this afternoon.

September 26, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I spoke with Kathleen Hoffman to follow up on the information I requested. She informed me that she would be sending me the information I requested a little later in the afternoon.

September 26, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation

I received an email from Kathleen Hoffman with additional information. See email from Thursday, September 26, 2019 at 6:11 pm.

September 30, 2019 — Follow-Up Investigation Report

After reviewing the information provided, EPD has concluded because the release was from a spent drum, the facility knew there was less than 10lbs of Ethylene Oxide at the time of the 7-31-2019 release. 10 lbs is the reportable quantity threshold for Ethylene Oxide. Therefore, there is no violation of O.C.G.A. 12-14-3 in regards to the 7-31-2019 release. In addition, EPD requested data regarding the past five years releases, regardless of the amount. EPD has concluded that all of the additional releases either were previously addressed by EPD (4-2-2018 and 7-10-2018) or were immediately determined by the facility to be less than the reportable quantity threshold. Accordingly the previously unreported releases on 2-3-2015, 11-11-2015, 11-17-2015, 1-31-2017, 6-11-2017, 7-17-2018 and 4-10-2019 were not required to be reported to EPD in accordance with O.C.G.A. 12-14-3. Going forward, EPD has requested that the facility send us monthly reports of all known releases, including those below the reportable quantity threshold. The facility has agreed to do so. I have shared all information regarding this investigation with EPD's Air Protection Branch for their review as they develop the draft amendment to the permit. I am closing this investigation on behalf of ERT.

Attachments

(Attachments are only available for complaints created after April 2018. Please note that not every complaint will necessarily have attachments.)


email 8-27-2019 245 pm.pdf
23.19 KB

email 8-28-2019 407 pm.pdf
119.41 KB

Information Provided During the 8-27-2019 Investigation.pdf
345.87 KB

email 8-30-2019 1229 pm.pdf
234.73 KB

email 8-30-2019 616 pm.pdf
1.23 MB

email 9-3-2019 822 am.pdf
49.43 KB

email 9-3-2019 1231 pm.pdf
85.61 KB

email 9-3-2019 326 pm.pdf
103.21 KB

email 9-3-2019 542 pm.pdf
328.37 KB

email 9-5-2019 259 pm.pdf
71.98 KB

email 8-27-2019-113 pm.pdf
95.57 KB

email 9-12-2019 303 pm.pdf
693.03 KB

email 9-18-2019 634 pm.pdf
1.29 MB

email 9-26-2019 611 pm.pdf
788.81 KB

SterigenicsTrip Report 8-27-19.docx
56.62 KB